Price-First Plan Guide
Cheap Phone Plans for Seniors: The Least Expensive Options in 2026
Affiliate disclosure: We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes our rankings. How we earn
The cheapest phone plans for seniors start at $5/month: Tello's $5 plan (300 talk minutes, unlimited text, no data) anchors the bottom, and Tello's $10 plan adds unlimited talk and text with 2GB.
For the cheapest plan that still comes with real data and a person to call for help, Consumer Cellular's $20 plan (1GB, unlimited talk & text, 5% AARP discount, US-based support) is the pick. Everything below is a price ladder, with the exact catch you accept at each rung.
Every plan here is cheap, but the least expensive one is not always the best value. This is the price-first companion to our best cell phone plans for seniors guide. There we rank on overall fit; here we rank on cost and tell you honestly what gets thinner as the number drops.
The price ladder: cheapest plans, ranked
Sorted by monthly price. Each row is a real, currently available plan: the “senior catch” column is what you trade for the low number.
| Plan | Monthly | Data | Network | The senior catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tello $5 | $5/mo | 300 min talk, unlimited text, no data | T-Mobile | No data means Wi-Fi only for browsing: fine for a call-and-text phone, not a smartphone user. |
| Infimobile Deal Buster | $5/mo | 100 min talk, 100 texts, 500MB | Not disclosed | Only 100 minutes and 100 texts a month, too little for most people, and the plan is non-refundable. |
| Tello 2GB (For Grandparents) | $8/mo | 300 min talk, unlimited text, 2GB | T-Mobile | A little data for maps and messages, but calling is capped at 300 minutes a month. |
| US Mobile Light | $8/mo | 2GB data | Verizon / T-Mobile / AT&T | App-and-web self-service; no phone-in senior support and 2GB is tight if home Wi-Fi is unreliable. |
| Tello $10 | $10/mo | Unlimited talk & text + 2GB | T-Mobile | Online-only support, no AARP discount, no retail counter to visit for help. |
| Lively Basic (Flip2) | $14.99/mo | Unlimited talk & text (data on higher tiers) | Verizon | Only with the Flip2, which Lively is running out. On the Smart4 the Basic plan is $19.99. Talk and text only, no included data. |
| Infimobile Pro Plus 5GB | $15/mo | 2,500 min talk, 2,500 texts, 5GB | Not disclosed | Infimobile does not name the network it runs on, so check coverage by ZIP code on their site first. |
| Mint Mobile 5GB | $15/mo | 5GB + unlimited talk & text | T-Mobile | The $15 rate requires paying 12 months upfront; renewal is higher and support is online-only. |
| Consumer Cellular 1GB | $20/mo | 1GB + unlimited talk & text | AT&T / T-Mobile | Only 1GB, but you get US-based phone support and a 5% AARP discount: the senior-friendly cheap option. |
| Visible (base) | $25/mo | Unlimited data | Verizon | Taxes included, but support is chat/app-only and hotspot speed is capped. |
Prices are as of September 2026, exclude taxes and one-time activation fees unless noted, and change often, so verify current pricing on the carrier's site before signing up. The highlighted row is the cheapest plan we'd recommend for a senior who wants phone-based support.
Tello anchors the bottom of this ladder. For the full breakdown of its plans, network, and setup, see our Tello for seniors review.
Cheapest per year
Infimobile 5GB: $75 for 12 months prepaid
The same 5GB plan runs a 12-month prepaid promo at $75 for the year, against a $180 list price. That is $6.25 a month for 5GB with 2,500 minutes and 2,500 texts, the lowest yearly cost of any plan with data on this page.
Read the conditions first. Infimobile marks the promo subject to a device compatibility check, so confirm your phone qualifies before you pay. Plans are non-refundable, and this one is prepaid for the whole year.
Our Infimobile review for seniors covers every plan, the refund window, and the network the company will not name.
paymentsSee the Infimobile 5GB planNo-contract cell phone plans for seniors
Nearly every cheap plan worth having today is already no-contract: the annual-commitment era is mostly gone at the budget end. Tello, Mint Mobile, Visible, US Mobile, and Walmart Family Mobile are all month-to-month with no early-termination fee, and Consumer Cellular and Lively let you cancel any time as well.
That matters for a senior on a fixed income: if the coverage disappoints or needs change, you switch without a penalty.
One honest nuance: “no contract” is not the same as “pay monthly.” Mint Mobile's headline $15 rate requires paying 12 months upfront: cheap, but a real cash outlay and a bigger commitment to unwind.
If flexibility is the priority, a true month-by-month plan like Tello or Consumer Cellular is the safer no-contract choice even when the sticker is a couple of dollars higher.
Prepaid phone plans for seniors
Prepaid is the natural home for the cheapest senior plans, and it's a good fit for a fixed income: you pay for the month ahead, there's no credit check, and you simply can't run up a surprise bill. The tradeoffs are worth knowing before you switch.
No surprise bills
You pay ahead, so overage charges and mystery fees essentially disappear: the price you see is what you spend.
No credit check
Prepaid skips the credit check that postpaid plans require, which removes a hurdle for some seniors.
Lower network priority
Prepaid lines can slow during congestion. For everyday calls, texts, and light browsing this is rarely noticeable.
App-first support
Most prepaid carriers lean on chat and apps. If phone-based help matters, Consumer Cellular is the exception at this price.
Low-cost plans for seniors on a tight budget
The cheapest right answer depends on how the phone is actually used. Four common budget situations:
Calls and texts only, always on Wi-Fi
Barely touches cellular data; someone else can set up the phone.
Tello $5: 300 min, unlimited text
No cellular data; step up to $10 for unlimited talk and 2GB.
Light smartphone user who wants phone support
Some browsing and maps, and wants a real person to call.
Consumer Cellular 1GB: $20/mo
5% AARP discount, US-based support, no contract.
Wants cheap but flexible data
Comfortable with an app; wants 10GB without a big upfront payment.
Tello 10GB: $15/mo
True month-to-month, no annual prepay required.
Prefers paying in person
Would rather buy a top-up at a register than manage an app.
Walmart Family Mobile: from ~$29.88/mo
Sold in stores; no age discount, but easy in-person refills.
Walmart cell phone plans for seniors
Walmart doesn't brand a “senior” plan, but Walmart Family Mobile is a legitimately cheap prepaid service sold at Walmart stores and on Walmart.com, running on T-Mobile's network.
Entry plans start around $29.88/month for unlimited talk and text with a block of high-speed data, and a premium “Truly Unlimited” tier runs about $50/month with 30GB of hotspot. Multi-line plans lower the per-line cost for a couple.
Its appeal for seniors isn't a discount (there isn't one), it's the Walmart counter: you can buy the plan, get a SIM, and reload minutes in person rather than through an app.
For a senior who distrusts online checkout, that convenience can matter more than shaving a few dollars off the monthly price. If you want a true senior discount instead, that lives with Consumer Cellular and the carrier 55+ plans, not Walmart.
Cheap unlimited-data plans for seniors
If a senior really does use a lot of data (streaming, or using the phone as home internet), a cheap unlimited plan beats stacking overages on a small plan. The lowest-cost unlimited options worth a look:
| Unlimited plan | Monthly | Network | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Visible (base) | ~$25/mo | Verizon | Taxes included; hotspot speed capped. |
| US Mobile Unlimited Starter | ~$25/mo | VZ / TMO / AT&T | Cheaper on annual prepay. |
| Mint Mobile Unlimited | ~$30/mo | T-Mobile | Rate reflects annual prepay. |
| T-Mobile 55+ (Essentials Choice 55) | From ~$45/mo (1 line) | T-Mobile | Formerly Magenta 55+; cheaper per line with two; plus taxes and fees. |
Honest reality check: most seniors who use Wi-Fi at home never approach an unlimited plan's worth of data. A capped 5GB plan at $15–$20 usually wins on total cost, and buying unlimited “to be safe” is the single most common way seniors overpay.
If you do want unlimited on a major network, the T-Mobile 55+ plan and Verizon's 55+ discount are the senior-specific routes.
What the cheapest plans give up
A low price is never free of tradeoffs. None of these are dealbreakers for the right person, but a senior (or the family member helping) should go in knowing exactly what gets thinner as the number drops.
Deprioritized data
Budget and prepaid lines ride the same towers but sit lower priority. In a crowd or at peak hours, data can slow while a full-price customer stays fast. Calls and texts are unaffected.
Thinner customer service
Most cheap carriers are app- and chat-first, with limited or no phone support. For a senior who wants to talk to a person, that gap can cost more in frustration than it saves in dollars.
No senior-specific support
Outside of Lively and Consumer Cellular, budget carriers offer no simplified setup, no senior help line, and no urgent-response features: you get a low price, not hand-holding.
Bring-your-own setup
The cheapest plans expect you to bring a compatible phone, activate a SIM or eSIM, and port your own number. Doable, but not the assisted, walk-in experience of a carrier store.
The cheapest of all: a low-income senior may qualify for the federal Lifeline discount ($9.25/month), and many Lifeline providers include a free basic phone.
The larger ACP program ended in 2024 and hasn't returned, so ignore “free ACP phone” ads. Our free cell phones for elderly guide walks through who qualifies and how to apply through the official program.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the cheapest phone plan for a senior?
For a senior who mostly calls and texts and uses Wi-Fi at home, the cheapest genuinely usable plan is Tello's $5 plan: 300 talk minutes, unlimited text, and no cellular data, with no contract.
Step up to $10 a month and Tello gives unlimited talk and text with 2GB, or US Mobile's Light plan runs about $8 a month for 2GB.
If the senior wants real smartphone data plus a person to call for help, Consumer Cellular's $20 plan (1GB, unlimited talk and text, 5% AARP discount, US-based support) is the cheapest senior-friendly option. The rock-bottom plans save money only when the phone is used lightly and someone else handles setup.
Is there a $10 a month cell phone plan?
Yes. Tello's $10 plan gives unlimited talk and text with 2GB of data, and a few plans go even lower. Read what you give up. Tello's $5 plan gives 300 talk minutes, unlimited text, and no data, and its $8 plan adds 2GB with the same 300-minute cap. US Mobile's Light plan is about $8/month for 2GB with unlimited talk and text. All are no-contract.
These work for a light user who is on home Wi-Fi most of the day. What you sacrifice at that price is generous data and senior-specific phone support: both are app- and web-first carriers. A plan under $10 is real; a full-featured plan under $10 with hand-holding support is not.
Is prepaid better for seniors on a budget?
Usually, yes. Prepaid means you pay for the month ahead with no contract, no credit check, and no surprise overage bill: you simply can't spend more than you loaded. That predictability suits a fixed income well, and nearly every cheap plan here (Tello, Mint, Visible, Walmart Family Mobile, US Mobile) is prepaid.
The one tradeoff is that prepaid plans sit lower priority on the network, so data can slow during congestion, and support skews toward apps and chat. If a senior needs phone-based help, Consumer Cellular's postpaid-style service with US support is worth the few extra dollars.
Does Walmart have senior phone plans?
Walmart doesn't sell a plan labeled 'senior,' but Walmart Family Mobile is a genuinely cheap prepaid option sold in stores and online, running on T-Mobile's network.
Entry plans start around $29.88/month for unlimited talk and text with a few GB of high-speed data, and you can buy top-ups at the register, handy for a senior who prefers paying in person over managing an app.
It has no age discount and no dedicated senior support line, so it competes on price and the convenience of the Walmart counter, not on senior-specific features.
What is the cheapest unlimited-data plan for a senior?
Among low-cost carriers, Visible's base plan runs about $25/month for unlimited data on Verizon's network with taxes included, and US Mobile's Unlimited Starter is about $25/month (cheaper if you prepay a year). Mint Mobile's unlimited sits around $30/month on annual prepay.
Among major-carrier senior plans, T-Mobile's 55+ value tier (Essentials Choice 55 2.0) lists at $50 for a single line and $70 for two, and AutoPay takes $5 a line off that, so two lines land near $30 each, plus taxes and fees.
For most seniors who use Wi-Fi at home, though, a capped 5GB plan around $15–$20 beats unlimited on total cost: paying for unlimited 'to be safe' is the most common way seniors overpay.
Are these cheap plans reliable, or do you get worse service?
The calls and texts are the same: these budget carriers ride the same T-Mobile, Verizon, and AT&T towers as the big names. What changes is data priority: prepaid and budget lines are deprioritized, so in a crowded stadium or downtown at rush hour your data may slow while a full-price customer's stays fast.
For a senior's typical day (calls, texts, occasional maps and browsing) that difference is rarely noticeable. The bigger real-world tradeoff is support, not signal.
How do I get a free phone if I'm a senior?
Through the federal Lifeline program, if you qualify. Age alone does not qualify you; income or benefits do. Lifeline discounts phone service by $9.25/month for households at or below 135% of the federal poverty guidelines, and seniors on Medicaid, SSI, or SNAP typically qualify automatically. Many Lifeline providers include a free basic phone with sign-up.
Note that the larger Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP) ended in 2024 and has not been restored, so ignore any current 'free ACP phone' ads. Our free-phones guide covers who qualifies and how to apply through the official program rather than a reseller's pitch.
Prices are approximate as of September 2026, exclude taxes and one-time activation fees unless noted, and reflect standard (not limited-time promo) rates where possible; carriers change them often, so verify current pricing before signing up. Sources: Tello, US Mobile, Mint Mobile, Visible, Consumer Cellular / AARP, Lively, Walmart Family Mobile, and the federal Lifeline program.
A cheap plan only saves money if the phone on it actually gets used. If the device is still undecided, a talk-and-text plan pairs naturally with a simple flip phone, and our decision guide settles the flip-versus-smartphone question before you commit to either bill.